Welcome to the ANS section at UIUC!

Making nuclear nu"cool"er since 1968.

Join Here!
Want to participate in our section?

Start here!

At UIUC, we're dedicated to the professional development of our members and the furthering of their overall knowledge of nuclear sciences regarding legislation, community outreach, and engineering.

Join the Newsletter!

Enter the required info below to subscribe to our section's newsletter! It is easy to unsubscribe, but that email can never rejoin.

Attend your first General Meeting!

Meet the officers and fellow members to get more involved! Check the calendar below or newsletter for the next one.

Pay your dues!

Go to this link for instructions on paying dues.

Check out what we're up to!


This calendar is continually updated and contains dates for all confirmed ANS events, deadlines, and more. Interact with the calendar to find details on the location, time, and date of events. If you would like to suggest an event to host or for ANS to participate in, feel free to reach out to us!

For any professional inqueries, contact the current Public Relations Chair.


View our elected Members of the Month and most involved members! Check out available employment opportunities and scholarships below!

Members of the Month
  • April 2021

    Elias Kokkinis

    Elias is a sophomore in NPRE from Bridgeview, IL and is in the power concentration. In April, Elias attended both outreach meetings and signed up to contact his representative!

  • March 2021

    Paola Silva

    Paola is a sophomore in NPRE and is also an officer for WiN. In March, she attended our outreach and general meetings, our talk with Harsh Desai, in addition to calling and following up with state legislators for the recent webinar!

  • February 2021

    Andrew Ernat

    Andrew came to our meetings, contributed towards our legislator letter writing campaign, and helped us film the banana outreach video!

  • November 2020

    Amanda Bachmann

    Amanda attended our general meeting and called a local representative to advocate for nuclear at our happy hour event. She's also a nominee for ANS National Student Director!

  • October 2020

    Sam Dotson

    In October, Sam presented at one of our Outreach meetings and frequently attended our weekly executive meetings in addition to having great attendance overall!

  • September 2020

    Nataly Panczyk

    Nataly is a freshman in NPRE from Palatine, IL and is leaning towards nuclear power with a slight interest in plasma. In September, Nataly attended both general meetings, our outreach meeting, and volunteered with us to collect native plant seeds!

  • September 2020

    Jake Mitstifer

    Jake is a freshman in NPRE from Hudson, OH and is interested in nuclear power. In September, Jake attended both general meetings, our outreach meeting, and joined us with the native plant seed collecting event!

  • February 2020

    Natalie Gaughan

    Natalie is a first-year grad student from Edina, Minnesota, joining us at Illinois after earning her B.S. in Nuclear Engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Her research is on neutron spectroscopy with a deuterated stilbene scintillator. This month, Natalie has attended all of the Student Conference Planning Committee and General Meetings, an Outreach Meeting, the visit from Brandon De Graaf, and the SWE Engineering Exploration Event.

  • November 2019

    Nathan Ryan

    Nathan is a freshman in Specialized Physics from Tinley Park, Illinois. In November he attended both of our outreach meetings and our general meeting. He even video-called into our student conference planning meeting while he was on his way home for break! Nathan has been very active in our ANS chapter since the beginning of the year.

Members of the Month

  • Paola Silva March 2021
  • Andrew Ernat February 2021
  • Amanda Bachmann November 2020
  • Sam Dotson October 2020
  • Nataly Panczyk September 2020
  • Jake Mitstifer September 2020
  • Natalie Gaughan February 2020
  • Nathan Ryan November 2019
  • Josh Hoffman October 2019
Volunteer to help spread the good word of nuclear and participate in much more!


Presenting the 2020 - 2021 Executive Board

Contact Us

If you are unsure of who to contact, feel free to email with general questions, comments, or concerns.

Jimmy Shehee - President

Jimmy is a senior in NPRE with a concentration in power, safety, and the environment. For the past two summers, Jimmy has worked as a reactor engineering intern at a nuclear power plant in Illinois. The nuclear field has been Jimmy's passion ever since earning the nuclear science merit badge in Boy Scouts, and as president of ANS he is looking forward to sharing that passion with fellow students and the community. Outside of the nuclear sphere, Jimmy enjoys cycling, cooking, plants, and playing video games.

Gavin Davis - Internal Vice President

Gavin is a junior in the NPRE department concentrating on Power, Safety, and the Environment. He currently is working under NPRE professor Katy Huff in advanced reactors and fuel cycles. He enjoys making music, photography, gaming, and scolding people for not wearing masks when they definitely should be.

Anna Balla - External Vice President

Anna is a senior in NPRE with a concentration in Power, Safety, and Environment. She spent her last summer at Exelon working remotely in the Radiation Protection department at Dresden Generating Station. This year Anna is excited to be an Engineering Learning Assistant and help freshman students navigate their first year at college. In her spare time, Anna likes to play volleyball, kick butt at Just Dance, and try her best to keep her little baby basil plant alive.

Stephen Armstrong - Treasurer

Stephen is a junior in the NPRE department’s Plasma and Fusion Science and Engineering track. He is also an active member at the Nuclear Radiation Laboratory where he works on a project involving surface deposition by plasma treatment of various materials. Outside of nuclear, Stephen plays the electric bass for a local church group and enjoys playing video games with friends.

Joshua Hoffman - Secretary

Josh is a sophomore in the Plasma and Fusion Science concentration in NPRE and is pursuing a minor in Physics. He is currently working at the Center for Plasma-Material Interactions on research into the use of liquid lithium for fusion applications. Outside of school and work, Josh enjoys being social(ly distant) with friends, playing video games, and getting cooking lessons from his roommates.

Dilan Kurukulasuriya - Outreach

Dilan is a sophomore in the Plasma and Fusion Science concentration and is pursuing a minor in both Physics and Mathematics. He is interested in materials research dealing with fusion science, and works at the Center for Plasma-Material Interactions lab. Dilan is also the Treasurer of Subatomic Pigeons Improv, and improv comedy RSO on campus. Outside of school work, Dilan enjoys playing Super Smash Bros., spending time with his friends, and climbing things.

Nathan Ryan - Public Relations

Nathan is a sophomore in Physics pursuing a minor in Math. Outside of ANS, Nathan is a coordinator for the Shadow an Engineer program, and a research assistant at the Advanced Reactors and Fuel Cycles with Prof. Huff. Outside of school, he enjoys cooking, playing volleyball, and exploring national parks.

David Leonhardt - Social Chair

David is a junior in the Plasma and Fusion Science concentration. He currently works at the Center for Plasma-Material Interactions conducting research on the use of atmospheric plasmas as tools for variable material surface depositions. Outside of ANS, he is also the coach and former captain of the premier competitive Rainbow Six: Siege team for the university. When not doing school work, David enjoys reading, hanging out with his friends, learning how to cook, and making the worst jokes this side of the Mississippi.